Bookmark and Share this Story:
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Facebook
  • Fark
  • Google
  • Reddit
  • del.icio.us
  • Mixx
  • Slashdot
  • E-mail this story to a friend!

Guinness Beer is Now Vegan. Repeat. There Is No More Fish In Your Guinness

Posted by Hoob on May 3rd, 2017
(Be the First to Rate This Post)
Loading ... Loading ...

When you think of Guinness, fish isn’t the first ingredient than pops into you head. Yet, it is a fact that the popular beverage could never be considered vegan because, until recently, they’ve been using fish bladders to filter their keg beer.

They explain on their website that this is a process they’ve been working to change for many years and they’ve finally been able to crack it without having to change the recipe that makes Guinness so famous around the world. As of right now, all Guinness Draught in keg format can be considered vegan and cans and bottles will also qualify by the end of 2017.

Guinness sells approximately 1.8 billion pints a year. You have to wonder how many of those buyers ever realized that their beer passed through a fish bladder before it ever reached their lips.

Source: Inhabitat

RSS feed | Trackback URI

Comments »

No comments yet.

You're not logged in. Please log in to comment. Not a member? Register and join YouBentMyWookie now. It's fun, free, and pure unadulterated awesomeness!


Trackback responses to this post