It wasn’t the most exciting Oscars in the world, in fact, took a senior citizen to bring the brightest moment of the youngest and hippest Oscars on stage. That’s right, when all else was failing, Kirk Freakin Douglas was more entertaining than both James Franco and Anne Hathaway… and that’s after a stroke!

Here’s a video of his appearance on show:

Oh, they also gave out a bunch of awards. As expected, it pretty much came down to The King’s Speech, Inception, The Social Network and Black Swan.

On a side note… how does Trent Reznor get a nomination for Best original Score and Daft Punk Gets Nothing?

Best picture
“The King’s Speech”

Lead actor
Colin Firth, “The King’s Speech”

Lead actress
Natalie Portman, “Black Swan”

Supporting actor
Christian Bale, “The Fighter”

Supporting actress
Melissa Leo, “The Fighter”

Best director
Tom Hooper, “The King’s Speech”

Best animated feature
“Toy Story 3”

Best foreign-language film
“In a Better World” (Denmark)

Screenplay (original)
“The King’s Speech,” screenplay by David Seidler

Screenplay (adapted)
“The Social Network,” screenplay by Aaron Sorkin

Music (original score)
“The Social Network,” Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross

Best music (original song)
“We Belong Together” from “Toy Story 3,” music and lyrics by Randy Newman

Art direction
“Alice in Wonderland,” production design: Robert Stromberg; set decoration: Karen O’Hara

“Inception,” Wally Pfister

Costume design
“Alice in Wonderland,” Colleen Atwood

Best documentary (feature)
“Inside Job,” Charles Ferguson and Audrey Marrs

Best documentary (short subject)
“Strangers No More,” Karen Goodman and Kirk Simon

Film editing
“The Social Network,” Angus Wall and Kirk Baxter

“The Wolfman,” Rick Baker and Dave Elsey

Best short film (animated)
“The Lost Thing,” Shaun Tan and Andrew Ruhemann

Best short film (live action)
“God of Love,” Luke Matheny

Sound editing
“Inception,” Richard King

Sound mixing
“Inception,” Lora Hirschberg, Gary A. Rizzo and Ed Novick

Visual effects
“Inception,” Paul Franklin, Chris Corbould, Andrew Lockley and Peter Bebb